Sky Music: A Tribute To Terje Rypdal (CD/2LP)

139,00 kr

The ordinary 2LP edition includes a CD with all the tracks.

The very limited 3LP edition includes the 2LP edition as well as Vol. 2 (RLP2195), but with both on white vinyl. Also included is the original CD edition in its digipack sleeve, as well as the free CD that comes with RLP2195. You also get a 61 x 61cm poster with design by Kim Hiorthøy, exclusive to this box set. It all comes in a solid cardboard flap lid box, hand numbered in an edition of only 150 copies!
Needless to say, this is probably our most desirable and collectible edition ever.

Please note, we can only accept one 3LP edition for each customer.

Sky Music is a humble and heartfelt celebration of an inspirational artist and truly unique guitarist that hasn´t fully received the due credit and recognition he deserves for over 50 years of excellent music making. Initiated by the experimental US guitarist and lifelong Rypdal fan Henry Kaiser, we put together a Rune Grammofon allstar band including keyboardist and long time Rypdal side-kick Ståle Storløkken (Elephant9, Supersilent), bassist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (Scorch Trio, The Thing), drummer Gard Nilssen (Bushman´s Revenge), guitarists Even Helte Hermansen (Bushman´s Revenge) and Hedvig Mollestad Thomassen, Finnish guitarist Raoul Björkenheim (Scorch Trio) and Swedish guitarist Reine Fiske (Dungen). Kaiser also played and produced while Hans Magnus Ryan (Motorpsycho) added bits and pieces and Jim O´Rourke beamed in his exquisite contributions to "Sunrise" from Tokyo. Bill Frisell, Nels Cline and David Torn delivered solo interpretations, Cline with the aid of cellist Erik Friedlander. Sky Music is their birthday present to Terje Rypdal at 70.

Guitarist and composer Terje Rypdal (1947) is probably as close as one gets to a living legend in Norwegian music. First making a name for himself as a teenager with pop-rock group The Vanguards, this was followed by the inevitable passage through psychedelia with The Dream, releasing their only album, Get Dreamy, in 1967. The following year Rypdal released the extraordinary Bleak House, the first album in his own name. Then followed the self-titled album from Min Bul - his trio with Bjørnar Andresen and Espen Rud - before a lifelong and fruitful relation with ECM would see the release of a large number of great albums, taking in jazz, rock oriented albums, symphonies, large ensemble works and various collaborations. The last few years he has also played live with Elephant9 on several occasions.

Liner notes by Rolling Stone senior editor David Fricke.

1. Ørnen   (5:53)
2. Over Birkerot/Silver Bird Heads For The Sun   (14:51)
3. Chaser   (6:17)
4. What Comes After   (6:31)
5. Warning: Electric Guitars   (5:18)
6. Though Enough/Rolling Stone/Tough Enough   (19:15)
7. Avskjed   (6:58)
8. Dream Song/Into The Wilderness/Out Of This World   (6:05)
9. Sunrise   (8:47)

Released 25.08.17